A bit about me…

Hi, my name is Helen. I live in Royal Deeside, Kincardineshire, Scotland, with my fiancé Alan and our 3 year old Rottweiler, Lotte. We live in a beautiful part of Scotland, but it is no secret everywhere in Scotland is a short radius from something even more spectacular. Yes it rains. But rain or not, blessed we absolutely are.

In July 2019 I decided to take a break from alcohol. I signed up to a ninety day plan, believing that on completion I would return to it. As yet, I haven’t. And as I write this, I doubt I ever will. Drinking alcohol with my partner and friends was pretty much my hobby. Celebrating, commiserating, laughing, crying. Alcohol always fitted the bill. Whatever the bill was. Except it didn’t. And my life wasn’t headed where I wanted it to go. So I changed it.

And here I am. Replacing one hobby with another.

Through all this, I have come to realise I am rapidly becoming addicted to that wee girl in the garage. Two wheels, a crank, a derailleur, some handle bars and brakes, even a bell. I’m a total novice but working towards becoming the absolute best version of me and enjoying a lot of wonderful scenery as I go. If you, like me, enjoy the absolute highs of the sport, that’s very cool. Likewise if you have stories to tell about your alcohol free journey, that’s very cool too.

Welcome.

So true…

Nothing compares to the simple pleasures of a bike ride.

John F. Kennedy

Every time I see an adult on a bicycle, I no longer despair for the future of the human race.

H. G. Wells

Let’s build something together!


Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: